Lee Craigie triumphs at 2024 Sports Book Awards

June 07, 2024 1 min read

Lee Craigie accepting her award at the 2024 Sports Book Awards
Other Ways to Win by former professional mountain bike racer Lee Craigie has scooped The Vikki Orvice Women's Sports Writing Award 2024.

The Award, which champions women's sports writing, is one of twelve prizes bestowed by the The Sunday Times Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Award – the major annual promotion for sports writing and publishing. The Awards exist to highlight the most outstanding sports books of the previous calendar year, showcase their merits and elevate their profile.

Lee said: 'It's wonderful that my book has been recognised in this way and to be chosen from a shortlist of fantastic titles.'

Structured around some of the pivotal adventures in Lee's cycling career, including the Tour Divide and Highland Trail 550, Other Ways to Win charts Lee’s journey of discovering cycling and the freedom it afforded her, through to becoming an elite level mountain biker, and subsequently leaving that life behind and discovering different ways to harness a competitive spirit.

Other category winners include household names such as former Sky Sports presenter Chris Kamara, whose book won Autobiography of the Year, former professional cricketer Phil Tufnell, whose book took Sports Entertainment Book of the Year, and rugby union coach Kevin Sinfield, who won the Sports Bestseller prize and won the Overall Sports Book of the Year Award, which he dedicated to his late friend and former Leeds Rhinos teammate Rob Burrow.

To see the full list of category winners, click HERE.